LEED Certified

/LEED Certified
LEED Certified 2018-04-05T20:19:34+00:00

LEED Certification at Winding Walks

All of the homes in Winding Walks will seek LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification. This designation will offer home owners a 15 year transferable tax abatement on the value of the homes they build. Meaning construction will be environmentally friendly resulting in extra energy efficient or “green” homes. This provides home owners with lower energy bills for the life of the home as well as eligibility for a 15 year City of Cincinnati tax abatement.

What is the U.S. Green Building Council?

The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is committed to transforming the way our buildings are designed, constructed and operated through LEED — the top third-party verification system for sustainable structures around the world.

Every day USGBC is helping advance spaces that are better for the environment and healthier for us to live, work and play in. Through our community network, continuous collaboration with industry experts, market research publications and LEED professional credentials, USGBC remains a key driving force in the green building sector.

What is LEED Certification?

LEED, or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, is changing the way we think about how buildings and communities are planned, constructed, maintained and operated. Leaders around the world have made LEED the most widely used third-party verification for green buildings, with around 1.85 million square feet being certified daily.

LEED homes are built to be healthy, providing clean indoor air and incorporating safe building materials to ensure a comfortable home. Using less energy and water means lower utility bills each month. And in many markets, certified green homes are now selling quicker and for more money than comparable non-green homes. Some of the most important buildings in the world use LEED. Shouldn’t the most important building in everyone’s world use LEED, too?

What Types of Buildings Can Be Certified?

LEED works for all buildings—from homes to corporate headquarters—at all phases of development. Projects pursuing LEED certification earn points across several areas that address sustainability issues. Based on the number of points achieved, a project then receives one of four LEED rating levels: Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum. LEED-certified buildings are resource efficient. They use less water and energy and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. As an added bonus, they save money.

What Are The LEED Certification Measurement Categories?

According to the USGBC, there are nine key areas measured by LEED:

  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality
  • Location and Linkages
  • Awareness and Education
  • Innovation in Design

How Does The Certification System Work?

The certification system is set up as a series of prerequisites (or requirements) and credit points. Prerequisites are specific standards your home has to meet to even be considered for certification. Credit points are given for a range of optional improvements. The points, awarded for everything from meeting energy efficiency standards to preserving plant-life, add up to a certification score.

  • Certified is 45-59 points
  • Silver is 60-74 points
  • Gold is 75-89 points
  • Platinum is 90-136 points
  • Total Available Points are 136

Tax Abatement

These 82 new homes will be built to be eligible for a 15 year City of Cincinnati  tax abatement. Taxes will be paid only on the value of the lot while abated, rather than the full value of the property. Offering a compelling tax bill of less than $100 per month. The tax savings equates to greater than $100,000 over the course of fifteen years and is transferable from each homeowner to the next for the 15 year period.

Application For Residential Tax Abatement [PDF]